top of page

Snow Day(s)!

This week Cork got hit with the 'Beast from the East' a snow storm that affected a majority of the country. Being from Colorado and going to school in Iowa I am very used to the snow but with a name like 'Beast from the East' I was worried about what was coming. This "beast" ended up being about 7 inches of powdery snow with minimum ice. Although, this was the most snow that Ireland has gotten since 1982 so it was a big deal.

The snow started early Wednesday morning and I woke up to all cancelled classes and 2 inches of snow!! Since classes were cancelled I decided to make a trip to city center to stock up on some food just in case things got bad. I am not even kidding when I say people were acting like the world was ending. I got to the store and there were people everywhere. All the bread, milk and other go to items were gone. I had to wait in the express line for 20 minutes. It. Was. Madness. The snow kept coming down heavy all day and into the night. Thursday I woke up to 7 inches of snow, the whole city being shut down and more cancelled classes! People were being advised to stay indoors and to only leave if it was absolutely necessary. After spending a whole day indoors my friends and I got pretty stir crazy so we decided to check out city center just to see if anything was open. City center looked like a ghost town. Normally there are people, cars and buses everywhere but Thursday it was silent. Friday I woke up to more snow, more cancelled classes and a super bad illness of some sort (fun)! The entire day was spent indoors and going slightly stir crazy. Saturday I woke up still sick but no more snow, just rain. The city finally started to open back up and things were basically back to normal except for the snow on the ground. Saturday night we went to a barcade where we ate dinner, played board and video games. Today I woke up to no snow but still sick. Since it rained all last night the snow melted away so the 'Beast from the East' is just a memory.

Thank you, (not) 'Beast from the East' for giving me 3 days off of school but not for the sickness you brought with you.

Wednesday morning

Thursday evening-entire town shut down

Saturday night

bottom of page