top of page

Life in Cork

Week 3? Check.

Sometimes I feel like time has flown by but other times I can't believe it's only been three weeks. Life in Cork is such a contrast from life back home. At Iowa State I am constantly busy, everything is planned to a tee and life is hectic (in the best way). In Cork I have so much time that I don't even know what to do with it all and I've been LOVING it. I've had so much time to explore the city I get to call home for 5 months.

It has been so different being the international student. Iowa State has tons of kids from all over the world and I never really paid much attention until the roles were reversed. It seems odd to me when people tell me they love my accent because I don't have an accent??? But wait, yes I do. Everything in Cork is just a little bit different from home which is exactly what I wanted out of this experience. I've noticed even things as simple as grocery shopping have been different. I'm so used to having all of my typical American brands but obviously that isn't the case here but it is nice being able to buy wine at the grocery store. The drinking culture is much different here than at home in the fact that drinking is heavily intertwined in their culture. Not the binge drinking like I am used to in America but constant drinking with every meal. They have a huge appreciation for their alcohol and people will go out to get a pint every chance they get. Classes are set up in a way that you only have class one or two times a week for up to two hours aka I only have class three days a week!!! Something that is especially different for me is the course layout. Being a marketing major I am used to group projects or interactive teaching but here it is heavily lecture based. Also, people rarely use computers in class. Your grade is usually based on a continuous assessment which can range from an essay to a group presentation and then an exam at the end of the course. So, there is no homework which has been amazing but I'm sure once the end of the semester rolls around I'll be thinking differently. My apartment is 40 minutes away from campus so I get quite the workout but the walk is absolutely beautiful so I'm not complaining. Although, I have become a pro at public transportation. So if you ever go to Europe be prepared to walk and walk and walk some more. One of the things I love most about Ireland and Europe in general is how naturally pretty everything is. The city center is filled with old beautiful buildings and gorgeous churches scattered around. No matter where you are going there is always something to look at. Plus there are so many other gorgeous towns just a bus ride away! This past weekend we took a spontaneous trip to Waterford just because we could. While we were there we went to museums, walked around the cute lil town and ended our trip in a pub watching rugby. There is so much to be seen I feel like I'll never be able to get to it all.

Being in a new place is challenging and hectic but it has already been the best decision I've made in a long time.

bottom of page