top of page

Tips & Tricks: Makin' Friends

Before I left for Ireland everyone would ask me what I was most nervous about and I would always say something like "being so far away from home blah blah" but in all honesty I was worried about making friends. What if I moved all this way and didn't make a single friend in 5 months??? I came here with my boyfriend so I had one person that I could hang out with but no one wants to be the person that only hangs out with their significant other. Everyone needs a group who they can be comfortable and themselves with, especially while you're abroad. Luckily, I was able to find a group of gals who I genuinely enjoy spending time with. Now that I have made some friends I thought I would take the time to discuss some things that have helped me these first couple of weeks. So without further ado here are some tips and tricks on making friends abroad:

  • Put yourself out there- Not everyone is a social butterfly that can easily strike up a conversation with random people so put yourself out there in a way that is comfortable for you. Whether it's walking right up to a group or chatting to the person next to you in class don't be afraid to make the first move.

  • Get involved- No matter where you decide to study abroad there will always be ways to get involved. Join a club, play a sport, attend socials- it's a great way to find people who share similar interests as you!

  • Be nice- People aren't going to want to be friends with a mean person so remember to be the most positive version of yourself. Don't spend all of the conversation talking negatively or only talking about yourself, first impressions are very important!

  • Keep your options open- Making friends is a lot like dating, it make take a couple of tries before you find the person or group that is right for you. Also, you can never have too many friends so don't stop meeting people just because you found a group.

  • Don't stress- Finding a group of people that you feel comfortable with doesn't just happen over night. Don't get discouraged if you haven't met people you connect with because it will happen.

Making friends isn't always the easiest task so hopefully some of these tips will help you during your time abroad.

PS- Don't forget to foster your friendships after you have made them, no one likes being friends with a flake!!

My gals

bottom of page