top of page

Week One(ish)

Well I have officially been in Cork for a little over a week and it has been crazy. If you have never moved to a new country, let me tell ya, it is exhausting but at the same time so exciting. I can honestly say that I had no idea what to except. It didn't hit me I was going to be staying in a different country for 5 months until I was standing with my two suitcases in my little Ireland apartment. Now I'm here and loving every second.

Let's rewind to the beginning of my journey to Ireland. I left at 2:30pm from Denver International Airport on a 9 hour flight to London. I'm not going to lie, saying goodbye to my parents was scary. Luckily, I travelled with my boyfriend so I had someone I knew by my side the entire time. The plane ride went a lot quicker than I was expecting. FYI on international flights they hook you up with movies, snacks and leg room. Unfortunately, we had a 10 hour layover in the London airport which was worse than the actual flight. Most of the time was spent snacking and complaining about how tired I was. BUT the flight from London to Cork was an whopping 50 minutes so we were there before I knew it. I was sad because we got to Cork around 7:30 at night so it was dark and I couldn't see much but I was still so excited to be there.

Now lets get to the fun stuff, life in Ireland!! The two days after I arrived in Cork were spent attending the international student orientation and trying to familiarize myself with my new home. Orientation gave me a better glimpse into what student life is like here at UCC and I decided to try out for the club soccer team. Unfortunately, I'm not the biggest fan of my living situation but on the bright side it gives me more time to spend in the city. Everywhere you look there is a cute shop or an old pub. Cork is an absolutely beautiful place with so much to see and do. Yesterday, I had the opportunity to experience the famous Blarney Castle first hand. I was overwhelmed by how much history was packed into one building. I didn't kiss the Blarney Stone because #fluseason but I still got to experience the breathtaking views from the top of the castle. There are tons of little corners of Cork I don't ever think I'll be able to explore it all. Everyday you can find something new to do and meet new people. I have met other students from all parts of the United States as well as some locals too. It has been nice being with other students from the US because everyone is going through the unfamiliarity of being in a new country. It also helps to see familiar faces in class. Classes here are completely opposite of what I am used to from home. They typically only meet once a week for two hours and the professor talks from the beginning to end with no breaks. Also, in many of my classes there is one final exam worth 100% of the grade. Yikes.

My first week(ish) in Cork was a whirlwind but I am so grateful for the opportunity to be here!

Selfie at the top of the Blarney Castle

The Blarney Castle

Cute lil street art

City Centre

UCC Main Quad

bottom of page